Taking Santorum down…with my iPhone Case

I’m sitting listening to a fitting combination of Buena Vista Social Club and Gospel music as a start to my morning. I woke up needing a social media fix and so after answering my morning text messages ( those I had fallen asleep on last night) I played entirely too much Dream Zoo, Words with friends, and Scramble with friends. I moved onto twitter, set up a pintrest account, and then, inevitably…facebook.

And this ritual…which I will probably repeat several times today led me to timely inspiration…and aggrivation, all at the same time. I was simultaneously confronted with my grandfathers wall posts: reminding me to be strong and faithful, and my younger sister’s sharing of a Huffington Post’s post on Rick Santorum and Single Moms. The juxtaposition of these two pieces brings up a theme that has been circling around my religion and spirituality for months. Jesus, like the transatlantic slave trade or the atomic bomb- irrevocably changed the present paradigms that informed the discourse of the time. And we are challenged to do the same: to pick up our cross daily, to stand still and know that I am God, to lean not to our own understandings, to believe- completely that children see God more clearly than we do and the Meek Shall inherit the earth. The beatitudes, surely, were revolutionary. In re-reading that paragraph I realize that you all make think I’m leading up to some great stand in support of Santorum. And so let me assure you now, that while he is Christian, and Radical and so am I…It is taking all of my Christianity not to call him…things I’m working on not calling people anymore. You know, turn the other cheek and all that.

My devotionals over this Lenten season have been concentrated on increasing my confidence in myself and releasing the illusion of control I have over my life. This month happens to be Women’s month, last month happened to be Black history month, and I’m a California Christian…which in my case means- I believe Jesus, Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, and Audrey Lorde were all activists and radical in their thinking: changing and challenging existing paradigms- writing their own discourse. And with those timely ancestoral examples, those shoulders I stand on, I have decided I am going to speed up my purchasing of my OBAMA iPhone case. for serious: I’m a revolutionary.

The entire series of events- me learning about the news via social media, and eventually leading to my own support of a political cause through the purchase of a cell phone case…illustrates how times have changed- and how Rick Santorum is going to be beat.

One thought on “Taking Santorum down…with my iPhone Case

Leave a Reply

